Sutton Coldfield Sports Awards

Royal Sutton had a really successful evening at the Sutton Sports awards on Friday with Janice Pryce winning the Veteran Sports Personality of the Year and the U17 Women’s XC team (Katie Ingle, Megan McBrien, Rebecca Robinson and Gaby Kinney) winning the junior team of the year.  Janice had a great 2012 winning the British title and setting new British records for the W50 triple jump (indoors and outdoors), whilst the U17 women dominated regional cross country events and finished runners up in the National Cross Country Championships.

Katie Ingle and Mike Marshall reached the final three for Junior Sports Personality of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Awards respectively.  The Junior Sports Personality of the Year was won by Jemma Westgate (a club member) in recognition of her achievements in the modern pentathlon.  Well done everyone!

Christmas Prize Draw Winners

The 100 club and Christmas prize draws were made on Thursday night and the winners were……..

  • 100 club £100 winning number – Gordon Chapman
  • Autographed Team GB shirt – Holly (ticket number 161 – please hand this in at the club house coffee bar to claim your prize)
  • Autographed club vest – Phil Pollock

The Christmas prize draw raised £92 for the club – thanks to everyone who took part.

A Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all our members and helpers.  All the best for 2013.

The Management Committee 


100 club results

And the winners from Thursday night’s 100 club draw were…………….

  • 1st – Trevor Brown (£50)
  • 2nd – Linda Lord (£30)
  • 3rd – Kate Jennings (£25)
  • 4th – Val Eames (£15)
  • 5th – John Topliss (£15)
  • 6th – Gordon Chapman (£15)

The next draw, which takes place on Thursday 20 December, is the special Christmas draw where one ball will be picked out of the hat and the winner will take away £100.

This is the same night as the prize draw for the shirts signed by the three team GB Olympians.  Should be a good night for three lucky winners!

Annual Award Winners

Well done to the athletes and coaches who were awarded prizes at the Annual Awards evening on Friday.  It was great to celebrate some fantastic performances from the last 12 months.  In particular, congratulations to Bunny Kyd who was awarded honorary life membership for his great contributions to the club.  Details of the winners of the major club awards are listed below:

  • Clare Fancote award male – Kevin Brown
  • Clare Fancote award female – Katie Ingle
  • Best single performance male – Nicholas Pryce
  • Best single performance female – Janice Pryce
  • Best all rounder male – Nick Corker
  • Best all rounder female – Chrissie Prince
  • Most improved athlete male – Charlie Hornby
  • Most improved athlete female – Elmena Saunders
  • Attitude to club male – Kane Howitt
  • Attitude to club female – Maddie Stearn
  • Most promising newcomer – Connor Nottley
  • Most promising newcomer female – Jasmine Skipp
  • Club person of the year – Stuart Goodall
  • Team of the year – U17 girls cross country team
  • Cross Country overall junior male – Alfie McBrien
  • Cross Country overall senior male – Ollie Haradence
  • Athlete’s Athete award – Theo Larcombe